Thinking of creating a multi-user gallery - some questions about skeleton code

I’m interested in building a Gallery application that allows user login and posting and removing of images, that would be displayed on each users page. Cake PHP was recommended.

Though this is premature, the idea is to make this for a very large user base. So for example, I would not want to put a years effort of development into a simple application that would be eventually easily outgrown. This is why Cake PHP was recommended (fancy term - scalable). I have very little experience in this, so I am not sure what question to ask relating to developing such a web application, so I’ll continue to describe it and ask a simple one liner at the end. The other necessary function is for each user to have a profile and a settings, where additional (undecided features) could be enabled and disabled. The next to last feature that is a must is a file upload and download section, where pre-packaged art packs in zip files could be uploaded and downloaded and perhaps other files. The last part is very premature also, but the idea is to initially create this web application and if the cicumstances are right, add a paid subscription service. Now that last part is too complex for me, so the only thing I would like to know, is how easy is it to add something like that after a web application is completed. I believe even though it is subscription, it is called e-commerce? Not sure about that, but that’s the last but maybe most important feature. Will I have to pre-plan or make considerations of that before I get to that point, or is it something that can simply be plugged in later.

So the one liner question is this - Is Cake PHP the right framework for me?

Other than that, I would be very happy with as many additional input or remarks about such a web application as anyone can suggest.

Thank you,