How to approach to be professional from novice

I am new to Cakephp , How to approach to be professional from novice

1 Like

You could start by exploring the documentation.
If you need more help with that you can always follow a training at http://training.cakephp.org/

Furthermore, it’s all about coding, making mistakes, and learning from it.

1 Like

The quicker you fail, the quicker you will learn.

Developing some apps while always reading the book (at least that’s what I do)

Also you can use and learn from various plugins from Friens of Cake and others, such as crud.

Start with reading the book so you don’t get frustrated. Always head back to the book if you don’t understand stuff or go to stackoverflow - there are many questions asked and answered.
If you don’t have any specific project at hand try to create small projects like a guestbook, a [insert a service] booking service or such to get hands-on experience.
Also, depending on your study-type, you might want to look into tutorial videos that can be found online.

And follow the blog tutorial.

There is also an “Beyond the blog” tutorial here

Pluralsight has a CakePHP 2 beginners tutorial if you happen to use that.

One of the best ways to become effective with Cakephp (or any framework or language for that matter) is to actually create a project you care about with it. The Cakephp documentation has become fairly good, so simply by using it as a guide it’s certainly possible to create pretty much any type of project.

I wouldn’t recommend working on a project merely for the purpose of excercise, or something without any real world value.

Learning something like Cakephp takes a lot of time and effort, it will at times be extremely frustrating and that’s why it’s important to work on a project that will be worth it in the end, at least in some way that matters to you.

So instead of trying to “study” it, i think it’s much better to just use it as a means to an end.