Step by Step Cake Development Book

Hey all,

I’m a developer at a shop in Ft Collins, CO. My lead developer and I are considering writing a step by step book on developing a real world application from start to finish using Cake 3.

Before we get started, we wanted to make sure that this is something people are actually interested in. Is this something anybody here would read? Is it something you guys think is needed?

Thanks!

1 Like

I have books for Cakephp 1.3 as well as 2, because books still feel like a very natural and helpful extension to learning via the internet.

That said, I feel like most books are barely able to scratch the surface when it comes to dealing with a complex framework such as Cakephp, which also gets updated frequently (which means that my books for the previous versions are now pretty much worthless…).

Personally I’m now of the opinion that an online project would make much more sense; Perhaps a compilation of step by step guides for specific parts of a webpage (i.e. user management, administration, processing payments, creating API’s, using different auth types, etc.) instead of a single “complete” application, since every app is different and talking about a single “generic” one is only helpful to a very limited extent.

Of course there would be nothing wrong with then publishing these in book form, but I myself probably wouldn’t buy a book on a framework anymore, since it becomes irrelevant far too quickly. A subscription to a high-quality online resource seems like a much more sensible investment in comparison.