Using Plugin Data in Theme Plugin

Hello,
i’m fairly new to Cake, and i’m facing the following logical problem for me:

I’ve created a Theme as a Plugin for my Cake Site, in which i created a layout for the home page (home.ctp) and a layout for the default pages (default.ctp). Now i’ve further created a simple appointments plugin. My Question: How do i make the data from the appointment plugin available in theme plugin?

Thank you and Best Regards

You pass it from the controllers to the view.
eg. in your controller you have this:

class MyController extends AppController{
  public function index(){
    $this->set('cake','the cake is not a lie!'); // name first, then the value
  }
}

then in your view (eg. plugins/CreamTheme/src/Template/MyController/index.ctp) you just display it using:

<?= h($cake); ?>

this will output the cake is not a lie! in the view!.

Thank you for your answer!

In my case, i need to use the appointment object from the apointment plugin in my theme plugin. Which means that i have no access to the appointments from the AppController inside the theme plugin. Is there some way to pass the appointments to my theme plugin?

You could try using a helper class?
Not sure if they are meant for that though…

Yeah, i had that idea aswell. I’m just stuck in how to do so. I just simply want to load all appointments inside one of my theme-views, and display them. I tried to create a helper in my plugin, named AppointmentHelper. In the docs i read that you can use a helper inside a plugin (the theme in my case) with

public $helpers = [‘Appointment.Appointment’];

But that is not getting me anywhere. I’d wish theming would be better documentend in Cake v3, it is a bit hard to see through as a beginner

public $helpers is not used anymore in CakePHP 3.x.
Instead, read this: https://book.cakephp.org/3.0/en/views/helpers.html

First of all, i’m using Cake 3.5.17, which comes with croogo, which i use.