Migration cakephp from PHP version 5.6.35 to php 7.2.3

Hi friends,
I wanted to migrate php 5.6.35 to php 7.2.3 in cakephp 5.6 .As I am new to cakephp can u please help me in step by step precedure to migrate the code base it into php 7.2.3

What version of CakePHP are you using?

Cakephp version 2.6.

2.6 does not support PHP 7.

https://book.cakephp.org/2.0/en/installation.html#requirements

Seems you’ll need to upgrade to at least 2.8 to get support for 7. (It’s not clear from that page which versions support 7.2 vs 7.0.) This will likely require some code changes on your part; I don’t know as I skipped straight from 1.x to 3.x. Migration guides for 2.x are here:

https://book.cakephp.org/2.0/en/appendices.html

See also this topic:

Ok thanks let me try and I will update you

Shall I use any php migration tool to migrate ???if yes then which tool I need to use?

CakePHP migration guides are in the appendices I linked to above. I have no relevant experience with the 2.x tools, so can’t provide anything more than that.

You need to incrementally upgrade your application’s CakePHP version following each applicable migration guide. There is no automated tool for this since the changes required are largely unable to be automated.

Once your application is running on the latest CakePHP 2.x version you can then upgrade your server to PHP 7.2. You can use a tool like https://github.com/PHPCompatibility/PHPCompatibility to show your potential compatibility issues.

I am using cakephp 2.6 version so I need to upgrade it to 2.8 ?

Probably safer to upgrade to 2.10. I’m not 100% sure if 2.8 supports PHP 7.2.

Chances are that it doesn’t since 2.8 was release in February 2016, and PHP 7.2 was only released November 2017 (More than 1.5 years afterwards)

Ok thank you very much

I am using notepad++ for development So should i use notepad++ itself or i need to install any IDE for php7 upgrade???

Notepad++ will work. Although it is very very outdated :slight_smile: