Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded

I searched for solutions on the internet but they mostly said that this was caused by slow database queries, however my app is slow even when I disconnect from the database.

I could change the execution time by changing max_execution_time in my php.ini but I don’t want to give it more time; I want it to load more quickly. No one will want to re-visit my web site if the pages load that slowly.

One site said that it could be re-creating the cache for every request and that I should change the file permissions on the tmp and log folders but I don’t see why changing the permissions would have an effect on caching and I was only able to allow sharing on my Windows xampp system anyway.

Disclaimer: I am not a web developer (go figure) so I can’t provide any info based from experience.

Use the Chrome dev tools to analyse your page. Press F12 and go to Lighthouse (last tab) and generate a report : mobile/desktop.

The dev tools can also display CPU loading times, overlapping actions and bottlenecks. Also use the Performance tab and record the loading time - both full-load ‘Ctrl+Shift+R’ and refresh ‘F5’. Note ironically the refresh is more relevant as full load only happens maybe once a day - but still it’ll give clues.

Both the browser and CakePHP have significant caching, so you don’t always know what is doing what for you (static css js & images is your browser cache, repeated queries and static forms is cake).

It may simply be images which are bigger than need be, or trailing variables on GET which force ignoring the cache (which is handy at times *cough*Google KMZs*cough*).

Even the Network tab in dev tools, very handy for tracking slow AJAX, iFrame, etc.

Then, you should be able to complete the sentence; my web page is slow because of ______, how can I make that quicker? :slight_smile: