Cakephp 4 Sort belongstomany by joinData

Hello,

I have a btm “through” association between 2 tables. The jointable has an extra field. I can access the joindata in the views and i can also save via _joinData to the jointable.

But I need to sort the retrieved data from the tables by the extra field of the jointable. (_joinData)

Is this possible and how to do it?

Thanks

If you look at the SQL generated for the query, you’ll see what name Cake is using to reference the join table, and you can then use that in your order call, which would need to be attached to the queryBuilder query for the contained table. It’s not clear from your question which part of this you have problems with; if this doesn’t get you to a solution, please share your find code for more specific help.

Thanks for the quick reply. To be honest, I really have no idea how to use the query builder since I am very new to cakephp. But I will try to explain my problem a little more.
Lets take the example from https://book.cakephp.org/4/en/orm/associations.html#using-the-through-option

Student BelongsToMany Course
Course BelongsToMany Student

and the association

id | student_id | course_id | days_attended | grade

I would like to show all Students with their associated Courses, BUT the courses should be ordered by the days_attended.

What I tried is:

$students = $this->Students->find(‘all’, [
‘contain’ => [‘Courses’],
‘order’ => [‘Students._joinData.days_attended’ => ‘DESC’]
]);

But this is not working.

Try this:

$students = $this->Students->find(‘all’, [
    ‘contain’ => [‘Courses’ => [
        'queryBuilder' => function (Query $q) {
            return $q->order([‘XXXX.days_attended’ => ‘DESC’]);
        },
    ]],
]);