Apache using 100% CPU for only 220 concurrent users

Please I am a young programmer i need some help, I developed an Examination system with

cakephp and I want the students to write the exam offline using this application, I am using wampserver on

windows server 2012 r2, Hp laptop Core i7 with 1TB HDD Hard disk, 16GB RAM, 2.7Ghz cpu, my problem is when 200 and above candidates login and start exam Apache will use up my CPU and start kicking students away saying this site can’t be reach.

Please how can I solve this problem?

Hope to hear from you guys soon

Thank you.

Ok, your problems are:

1. wamp
  2. windows
  3. hp laptop

OMG! Are u serious those are your server specs? ok ok … anyway, probably is normal… (performance issues)… but please provide more informations about your app:

• Cakephp and PHP versions
  • Database setup
  • Any cache configuration?

…What else more do we need to know?

PS: i don’t understood about the “offline” application… can you explain how it works?

Thank you for your response I have below

• Cakephp version: 2.*
  • PHP 5.6 versions
  • Database MySQL 5.*
  • Any cache configuration? Yes there is cache
    And also error log
    MySQL only uses 5% of my CPU
    Offline I mean the application work on local network LAN

Presently I am thinking of buying gaming laptop HP omen, also I need if there is a way to increase this numbers or reduce Apache CPU usage, memory has no issue as it only use less than 30% of memory but 100% of CPU with 220 concurrent request, same I have also deployed it using core server still have the same problem of running out of CPU

You’d be better of putting in on a dedicated host with some load balancing.

The application is supposed to run and access locally without internet connection

Upgrade to PHP 7.2 at least. PHP 7.x is around twice as fast as PHP 5.6.

Also investigate implementing heavier caching.