Token based authentication vs CakePHP default PHP session

Hi everyone,

I am a novice when it comes to web application security. I have almost completed a web application and before going public I would like to make sure it is rock solid on security.

I was planning on just using CakePHPs default PHP sessions for authentication along with HTTPS ssl configured.

My questions is this sufficient for modern web applications? Should I be looking to use token based authentication instead or are tokens something I should move to as the site grows in popularity.

Thanks all. I’m feeling a bit out of my depth on how to secure my web application.

Regards,
Craig

When you say

using CakePHPs default PHP sessions for authentication

You should share with us some of your implementation details, as sessions are not an authentication solution. It’s what you’d put in the session which would be more interesting.

Tokens are not an authentication solution. If you’re referring to a JWT or JSON Web Token, then that’s simply a way of making a token. Do bear in mind that tokens are encrypted, and not hashed. They are not inherently secure in any way. So be sure to only store stuff in your token which you’re happy for anyone to read. Have a read about JWT at https://jwt.io/ and perhaps check out ADmad’s plugin, GitHub - ADmad/cakephp-jwt-auth: A CakePHP plugin for authenticating using JSON Web Tokens

Hi Neon,

Thanks for taking the time to respond to me.

In terms of my implementation I want to use Form Based Authentication and store the session information using Cakes default php session setting (Uses settings defined in your php.ini). In terms of what is being put in the session it would be the CakePHP framework default. Eg user details (except password) as seen in the Cake Blog tutorial.

My objective is to ensure my web application is adequately secure and just wanted to know if using the above described Form Based authentication in conjunction with SSL was sufficient security?