Possible to create a User Dashboard to show graphs of data in widgets?

Hi everyone,

Firstly… i’m a noob to cake… and have had a team of front end devs build out a cakephp site for me. Now I have a new requirement of the site that I have to satisfy and i’m not sure if cake can handle it. I’m working with Cake 3.3.x currently.

I’m wondering if there’s anything out there (plugin wise maybe) that would allow me to have a page on my site that is a dashboard with widgets.
The idea is that a controller would collect data from an api, and then the widgets on the dashboard would graph out that data, or display it in some other way.
The user of the site would be able to move the widgets around… size them bigger, and smaller and basically configure their dashboard to be the way they want it.
They’d be able to pick from a collection of canned widgets to show data they’d want to see.
And their personal configuration of the dashboard would be saved off (maybe in my backend api which is separate from the cakephp instance) so that their personal config can be retrieved before painting the page.

Is this possible in Cake or would it be best to do it in another framework? I’m trying to find plugins for this and the only one i found was gourmet/dashboard but i’m having trouble getting it to install because it wants me to be running 3.0.*-dev version of Cake which i’m not running. Plus it looks like an abandoned project. https://github.com/gourmet/dashboard

Basically i’m doing research to see if I can implement this in Cake or if i should move to another framework.

thanks in advance!

Hii there,

This has very little to do with CakePHP in this case, as the general flow will be identical for all PHP frameworks.
You use the PHP framework (be it CakePHP, Symfony, Laravel etc. etc.) to serve the page itself.