Move some function from long model file to another file

How put some new or existing function related to model to another file, but still get access to parent model?

Let’s say I’ve got orders table in db, OrdersController, OrdersTable.
In OdrersTable I have:

public function fun1($id)
{
  $order = $this->get($id);
}

private function helper(Order $order)
{
  //do some repetitive work
}

I want make new file and connect it somehow to OrdersTable, so I can have in Orders2Table:

//Orders2Table
public function fun2($id)
{
  $order = $this->get($id); //which take record from orders, as above
  $this->helper($order);
}

Maybe I can “extend” somehow OrdersTable? But I’m not good at this level of object programing.
My problem is, that my models and controllers files have 2k+ lines.

The details you want are in this section of the php manual

The bigger question is what will you move to improve the situation.

As a self taught coder I found this book - Refactoring
Improving the Design of Existing Code
- helpful in focusing my attention on problems in my code and giving me ideas on how to improve them.

Perhaps chapter three on code smells would help you as much as it did me

1 Like

So I tried this, initially worked, but it seems calling fun1 plced in table1 from table2 change repository and functions in corresponding entity file doesn’t work.

You would have to show some code from your two classes and methods to get any advice.

But a first guess (assuming these are table classes) is that you’re not accounting for the file/class naming conventions and how you have to manage things if you don’t follow those conventions.

class WidgetsTable extends Table {

// will work with the db table 'widgets'
// will create entity classes 'Widget'
// will be known by the alias 'Widgets' in controllers
// will be automatically available as $this->Widgets in the class 'WidgetsController'
}
class ExtendWidgetsTable extends WidgetsTable {