Confused about fat models

Hi all,

I’m new to cakephp, and for that matter the mvc concept as well, tough learning curve!!!
anyways, I am confused about the fat model idea.

The tutorials of cake set the save and retrieve functions for models in the controllers,
and so have I started doing…

but quickly, i have to call other controllers functions from within controllers
// within YourController
$x= new MyController();
$y= $x->action1();

I need to save associated data with some models, and be able to retrieve it as well
for now, the
->newEntity()
_prepare
->dispatchEntity($a,$b,[ ‘associated’ =>
table1
table1.table2
table1.table3.table3
)
->save

is in one controller, but it feels like calling controllers from within others is not right,
and from what I understand, the datawork should be in the model(table?entity?)

should I put the data manipulation in the model? if so, how do I deal with the associations?
and why are the tutorials dealing with the data in the controllers?

your help is much appreciated !
thanks in advance,
Tibo

Your application design is wrong. You should not call any other controller methods from another controller.

Fat model means you put all your data manipulation into the model / table. And yes use associations. :slight_smile:

Ok, but how?
Where can I find a good example???

Start with the blog tutorial

1 Like

I have done the tutorials:
newEntity() ,DispatchEntity() and save are done in the controllers for the model.

So if I want to access the model from somewhere else, what do I do?

The thin controllers, fat models principle is an ideal and not always sensible.

Basically, you can do almost everything in the controller (apart from maybe validation and a few other things), but a division of concerns can be extremely helpful in making it easier to work with your app.

That’s why you should try to put the low-level data preparation logic into the models and have the controllers deal with higher level functionality.