Cannot save associated table

I studied the posts here, also the documentation in:

But unfortunately I am apparently to stupid to save data into an associated table. I have this simple example:

CREATE TABLE `fathers` (
 `id` int(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
 `name` varchar(20) NOT NULL,
 `intval` int(11) NOT NULL,
 PRIMARY KEY (`id`)
) ENGINE=InnoDB AUTO_INCREMENT=2 DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8;

INSERT INTO `fathers` (`id`, `name`, `intval`) VALUES (1, 'f1', 1);

CREATE TABLE `sons` (
 `id` int(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
 `father_id` int(11) NOT NULL,
 `name` varchar(25) NOT NULL,
 `floatval` float NOT NULL,
 PRIMARY KEY (`id`),
 KEY `father_id` (`father_id`),
 CONSTRAINT `sons_ibfk_1` FOREIGN KEY (`father_id`) REFERENCES `fathers` (`id`)
) ENGINE=InnoDB DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8;

I want to display in the form for fathers additionally the associated fields of sons. This is how I do according to the above link from the official documentation:

echo $this->Form->control('name');
echo $this->Form->control('intval');

echo $this->Form->control('sons.0.id');
echo $this->Form->control('sons.0.name');
echo $this->Form->control('sons.0.intval');
echo $this->Form->control('sons.1.id');
echo $this->Form->control('sons.1.name');
echo $this->Form->control('sons.1.intval');

I baked the Controller and model by the cake binary and there isn’t any error message regarding the model so I would say they are correct.

In the fathers Controller in the add() & edit() functions I have - again according to the two above documentations - this code:

if ($this->request->is(['patch', 'post', 'put'])) {
	$data = $this->request->getData();
	$father = $this->Fathers->newEntity($data, [ 'associated' => ['Sons'] ]);

$father->setDirty('Sons', TRUE);
	if ($this->Fathers->save($father)) {
		$this->Flash->success(__('The father has been saved.'));

return $this->redirect(['action' => 'index']);
}
$this->Flash->error(__('The father could not be saved. Please, try again.'));