Calling controller function from ctp file

New to Cake and php. My background is in C++.

This question is two fold:

I have added a function to “ProductsController.php”:

class ProductsController extends AppController {

public function isAvailable($numProducts){
    if($numProducts > 0){
        $available = "Yes";
        return $available;
    }
    else{
        $available = "No";
        return $available;
    }
}

The file is otherwise in its default state, as baked.

I am then trying to call the function from Products/index.ctp:

<td><?= $ProductsController->isAvailable($product->stockAvailable) ?></td>

This is just a small project I have given myself after following the tutorial.

Alternatively, using the conditional operator in my .ctp file gets the desired result, however it seems a little messy:

<td><?= $this->Number->format($product->stockAvailable) > 0 ? 'yes' : 'no'; ?></td> 

Am I using cake properly, or have I made a silly, rookie error with my php/html.

Thank you kindly in advance,

Learning.

Hmm, yeah, you should study the CakePHP conventions and the MVC pattern a little more.

The basic idea is that your models should do the job of fetching data from the db, validating and preparing it for the controller.

In your controller, you can then do things like $this->Users->find(‘all’); etc.
In other words, retrieving the db data that has been prepared by the corresponding model. Then you can in turn prepare the controller variables for the view from within the controller.

This is intentionally a one-way-street; So if there’s something you need in your controller, you have to make it available from inside of the model first. And if you want something in your view, you’ll need to set it in the controller first (instead of returning it):

$this->set('myVar', '95.00 $');