Adjust date/time based on timezone

I’m new to CakePHP and have my first app almost done in 3.7.1. The default app & MySQL timezone is UTC. Users will enter data that includes date/time and a location. I have timezones associated with these locations. A simple view of the adjusted date/time seems easy enough using:

<?= h($race->date->i18nFormat(null, $race->racetrack->timezone, null)) ?>

The date/time is displayed in the proper timezone. I’m struggling with the add and edit functions. On an add, I need to adjust the entered timezone to UTC before it is saved. Then, on edit, I need to adjust the date/time from UTC to the stored local timezone, allow editing, and then convert it back to UTC. This should be an easy task.

I’m trying to do this and stay within the framework rather than hacking something together. Any help in doing this properly would be most appreciated.
Thanks

So if I understand correctly,
Users will enter their date/time along with their location.
Based on their location you convert them to the UTC equivalent (to store them in the database).
You then save it in the database.
Later you load it from the database again, then convert it back to the local time of the user, then add/remove some time to this, convert it back to UTC and then store it again?

If that’s the case, why not store and handle it like UTC but only have the display have the local user’s timezone?
It should save quite a bit of hassle along with some resources.

also, have you taken a look at this class?
https://book.cakephp.org/3.0/en/core-libraries/time.html

Thanks for the feedback. To provide a little more context for what I’m trying to do: The user will enter details about a race which includes the date/time the race took place and the racetrack where the race was held. The race table has a relationship with the racetrack table. The local timezone is located in the racetrack table so users do not enter their location per se.