Inflector::singularize() issue when word ends in `ss`

Hello, I am new to CakePHP [using 4.3], but have 20 years exp. with PHP.

I was working with Inflector, and using the sandbox

https://sandbox.dereuromark.de/sandbox/inflector?string=boss

And found that if a word ends in ss and singularize() is run on it, it removes the second s. boss becomes bos. My understanding is that in the English language when a word ends in s, the plural is that word +es. That ss at the end of a word is always the singular.

If that is correct, I believe Inflector is doing it incorrectly.

I saw this

https://book.cakephp.org/4/en/core-libraries/inflector.html#loading-custom-inflections

Could someone assist me in making a custom rule for this, or perhaps already has a custom rule they could share?

Thanks in advance

Without offering to help I can advise that English is stupider than that. As a rule that works but there are many exceptions which may need to be taken into account (if they aren’t already).
Like 1 octopus, 2 octopii.
1 sheep, 2 sheep.

Then it gets stupider, like virus - if it’s a biological virus the plural is virii, but if we’re talking about computer virus then its viruses. And a mouse. The rodent plural is mice, the computer hardware device is mouses. (1 die, 2 dice.)

Then there’s fish… 1 fish, 2 fish - but, if you’re talking about 2 fish of different fish species then its 2 fishes.

That is English, but I think American English (where these rules have been simplified) is more logical - at least, cleaner; less Latin!

Only a grammar nazi (can I say that?) would care - I’m just preempting them!

Edit: Apologies, I see the title refers to words ending in SS - but instead of deleting my reply I’ll leave it just in case its remotely useful to anyone. Re-reading it seems I’m just stating the obvious, but I guess better to hear something twice than not at all.