Deploying my project to a shared host

My topic is similar but not the same as others posted here.

I am a hobbyist. My living doesn’t depend on CakePHP but my fun does! I have a shared hosting account and I run several static websites as folders off public_html.

My question is: Can I deploy my CakePHP project by just uploading all the files to a folder below public_html? Is it legal or is it poor programing practice.

Thanks,
Paul

Yes, you can. Read this also: https://book.cakephp.org/3.0/en/installation.html#production

I think this technique will be easy for you

Assumptions:

1. You have access to cPanel/File Manager
  2. Your root folder is /home/username
  3. Your public (web) folder is /home/username/public_html

Steps:

1. Copy the contents of your application’s root folder (CakePHP or whatever your application folder is) to /home/username. This will result in Your application’s bin folder going to /home/username/bin and so on
  2. Remove public_html folder and create a new symlink ‘public_html’ pointing to /home/username/webroot

Yes, you can deploy your cakephp site on shared hosting by uploading the files to the folder. However, you must follow a proper process.

First, structure the directory like this:

/home/username/public_html/
    // webroot contents goes here
    css/
    img/
    js/
    .htaccess
    index.php

/home/username/mycakeapp/
    // necessary app directories go here
    /config
    /logs
    /plugins
    /src
    /tmp
    /vendor

Change WWW_ROOT in mycakeapp/config/paths.php on line 52:

define(‘WWW_ROOT’, ‘/home/username/public_html/’ . DS);
Change the path to bootstrap.php defined in the webroot index.php file on line 28 (located at /home/username/public_html/index.php):

require ‘/home/username/mycakeapp/config/bootstrap.php’;